The Audience Project (TAP)

Group Leaders: Professor Daniela Treveri Gennari, Professor Paul Whitty, Dr Maya Nedyalkova

Contact: the-audience-project@brookes.ac.uk

The Audience Project (TAP)

The Audience Project (TAP) research group aims to encourage, produce and disseminate innovative audience research. It draws together scholars from across the University, promotes submissions to major funding bodies and invites collaboration with external partners.

Particular interests include memories of cinema-going; contemporary audiences; audience engagement with cinema heritage; genre and audiences; sound art; gender identity; digital media and youth; fandom; celebrity and popular culture; distribution and exhibition practices; digital humanities, and reception studies.

Research carried out in The Audience Project (TAP) has made significant contributions to the development of this subject on a national and international level, securing external funding (see, for example, the AHRC-funded Italian Cinema Audiences and European Cinema Audiences, and the BA-funded Turning your Back to the Audience).

Related courses

Research Impact

Our activities include:

  • Research seminars, lectures and workshops with national and international speakers
  • Conferences and networking events
  • Funding and collaborative applications
  • PhD students in audiences and reception studies
  • Thematic publications
  • Establish connections¬†with industrial partners both locally, nationally and internationally
  • Internship and volunteering opportunities
  • Impact activities with the local community

Membership

Staff

NameRoleEmail
Dr Silvia DibeltuloSenior Lecturer in Communication, Media and Culturesdibeltulo@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Hanna Klien-ThomasResearch Fellowhklien-thomas@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Dalila MisseroResearch Fellowdmissero@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Maya NedyalkovaResearch Fellowmnedyalkova@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Alessandra PaliddaSenior Lecturer in Musicapalidda@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Michele PauleSenior Lecturer in Communication, Media and Culturempaule@brookes.ac.uk
Professor Daniela Treveri GennariProfessor of Cinema Studiesdtreveri-gennari@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Pete TurnerLecturer in Film and Digital Media Production, and Subject Coordinatorpeteturner@brookes.ac.uk
Professor Paul WhittyHead of School of Artspwhitty@brookes.ac.uk
This website uses cookies to improve your experience. Cookie Policy